Identity crisis.

“During the campaign, Mr. Obama’s “Fight the Smears” website wrote: Barack Obama is a committed Christian. He was sworn into the Senate on his family Bible. He has regularly attended church with his wife and daughters for years.” [source]

I’m not saying whether he is or isn’t Christian, but it’s tragic to think this is America’s definition of a radical follower of Yeshua. Unfortunately, it’s kind of our fault. Let’s step it up, Church.
Shouldn’t the identity of a Christ follower be obvious, undeniable, and unworthy of debate?
How about you?
How about me?

——–
Edit: A friend posted this article on Facebook today. I still cannot judge Obama’s soul, but if he still believes as he did at the time of this interview, he is not a Biblical Christ follower. First and foremost, a Christian takes Christ at his word (DUH!), that He is Elohim as He claimed. Here are some highlights. Note the flavor of his introspective focus which more resembles Buddhist philosophy. I think this is the state of much of Western “Christianity”. Let’s preach the GOSPEL!

FALSANI:
Do you pray often?
OBAMA:
Uh, yeah, I guess I do.
Its’ not formal, me getting on my knees. I think I have an ongoing conversation with God. I think throughout the day, I’m constantly asking myself questions about what I’m doing, why am I doing it.

—-

FALSANI:
Who’s Jesus to you?
(He laughs nervously)

OBAMA:
Right.
Jesus is an historical figure for me, and he’s also a bridge between God and man, in the Christian faith, and one that I think is powerful precisely because he serves as that means of us reaching something higher.
And he’s also a wonderful teacher. I think it’s important for all of us, of whatever faith, to have teachers in the flesh and also teachers in history.

OBAMA:
I’ll be honest with you, I used to [pray and read the Bible] all the time, in a fairly disciplined way. But during the course of this campaign, I don’t. And I probably need to and would like to, but that’s where that internal monologue, or dialogue I think supplants my opportunity to read and reflect in a structured way these days.

OBAMA:
I find it hard to believe that my God would consign four-fifths of the world to hell.
I can’t imagine that my God would allow some little Hindu kid in India who never interacts with the Christian faith to somehow burn for all eternity.
That’s just not part of my religious makeup.

What I believe in is that if I live my life as well as I can, that I will be rewarded. I don’t presume to have knowledge of what happens after I die. But I feel very strongly that whether the reward is in the here and now or in the hereafter, the aligning myself to my faith and my values is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

