bittersweet

I am not usually an emotionally unstable person, but this has been a rollercoaster week.

  • A lot of Americans care about Haiti right now, but Canada’s military beat ours to Jacmel.
  • The world ignored Jacmel until yesterday, but the church was there all along.
  • My home away from home is mostly destroyed, but my friends there are all OK.
  • Bureaucracy makes things – like helping victims (earthquake survivors, sex slaves, orphans) or shipping food to desperate areas –  way more difficult than it should be.
  • Haiti’s adoption policies are very restrictive (we apparently are too young to adopt),  but they relaxed the laws for already-matched families.
  • I broke my toe. God healed my toe!
  • Prostitutes are slaves, they are in my city, and their vile rapists include executives and clergy.
  • God made a way where there was no way, and His sovereign provision is amazing!

Bittersweet.

Leave a Reply

