Bucky on “Grey’s Anatomy”

[This post is in response to a wall-to-wall convo I’ve been having on Facebook with a couple of my good friends. I decided to move this post to LJ instead of someone’s wall since it’s so long. Also, I know that some other people are curious as to what the heck I’m talking about regarding “Grey’s Anatomy” being demonic, so if that’s you, feel free to read]

Israel: “I have no clue, as I haven’t seent it. Demonic might be a bit hyperbolic to say, though.”

Well, we apparently have different worldviews on this issue. However I think I know where you’re coming from, because even about a year ago, I probably would have agreed with that statement. But recently the Lord’s taught me a lot about the battle we’re in, and unfortunately I’ve had to learn it pretty much by myself…because churches — at least the one’s I’ve grown up in — tend to avoid the topic (probably because it seems so “off the deep end” to western society and would run off a lot of folks. That’s a whole other issue though). But let me tell you this; when you SEE demons manifest, that’s when it hits the fan. That’s when you start to realize how the world really works.
I say all that basically to convey the fact that, because of our different perspectives, we have different definitions/understandings of “demonic”. I don’t want to go any further into that, though. I know it would make me sound like a nutjob to most people. Don’t get me wrong; risking persecution and the loss of my credibility or even friendships is worth truth and freedom to me. But it would be stupid to risk all that if it’s going to fall on deaf ears; to go around explaining this to whom it’s not relevant, or to those who won’t understand or receive it. Don’t take that the wrong way…I’m just saying that I feel that I’m supposed to share that message with Christian brothers and sisters who ARE ensnared by things like Grey’s Anatomy, and that’s not you.

Israel: “Anything can cause someone to ‘slip.’ Like pokemon.”
Josh: “Better start avoiding all that Indiana Jones stuff too. Dr. Jones is quite promiscuous himself.”

First, I’ll say that I don’t have to defend myself against the judgment of men; I’ll answer to my Lord, since only He really knows my heart. I’m not one to go around saying some things are inherently bad and some things are ok. Scripturally, “everything is permissible for me, but not everything is beneficial. Everything is permissible for me, but I will not be mastered by anything.”
I agree with your thinking that there are plenty of shows, movies, music, attitudes, etc. that can be used by the enemy to draw believers away into temptation. But that doesn’t mean Christians should just avoid EVERYTHING…the fact is we live in a sinful world, so there is temptation and sin everywhere. Sinners are slaves to sin and don’t realize it; so we’ve got to meet them where they are — in this world. So most of us aren’t called to be monks, but to live in the world yet remain holy (good article on that concept: http://www.gotquestions.org/in-but-not-of-world.html). And because of the freedom that Christ gives, the decision to submit to or disobey the leading of His Spirit (and the discernment He gives) is up to us. And like I said, only He really knows the intent of our hearts. Refer to this post that I wrote about relevance: http://dcjedi.livejournal.com/92455.html

[Now I’ll speak to everyone reading this]
See, I never said “Grey’s Anatomy” itself is any worse than anything else. But I do know there are a ton of Christians out there who are watching it — or even admit they are addicted to it — for their own enjoyment. One problem with that is; what redeeming value does it have, or how are they using it to glorify Elohim (1 Corinthians 4:31) or to reach lost people who watch it? I haven’t seen any evidence of this. If some of them are, great! I pray protection over their minds as they do that. Unfortunately, though, most of them (so far as I can tell) are not doing that. Is that sin? It’s not my place to say, but if you are one of these mentioned people who happens to be reading this right now, judge for yourself (well, you know…in submission to the Lord):

“You adulterous people, don’t you know that friendship with the world is hatred toward God? Anyone who chooses to be a friend of the world becomes an enemy of God. Or do you think Scripture says without reason that the spirit he caused to live in us envies intensely? But he gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says:  ‘God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.’
Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”
-James 4:4-7

More troublesome things (among many) about it: I feel that when you watch the show and root for (or are curious about) certain extramarital sexual relationships, you are celebrating adultery [Disclaimer: like my friend Israel, I admit I don’t watch the show. However, I’m assuming these things from everything I hear around me from fans of the show and things I see on Facebook]. What’s not demonic about that? What I mean by that is: it gives satan glory, not God. Personally, that enrages me. Desensitizing people to adultery is a stepping stone the enemy uses toward the agenda of destroying marriage and intended family structure. Another problem is that, if you’re a Christian, when you indulge in something that has that much worldly and potentially tempting/sinful content, you are opening yourself up for demonic influence.
“WHAT?!” you say? “That’s so charismatic! It’s not Biblical!”
Is that so?
“And do not give the devil an opportunity” -Ephesians 4:27
“And do not offer any parts of [your body] to sin as weapons for unrighteousness…” -Romans 6:13
“What then? Should we sin because we are not under law but under grace? Absolutely not! Do you not know that if you offer yourselves to someone as obedient slaves, you are slaves of that one you obey —either of sin leading to death or of obedience leading to righteousness?” -Romans 6:15 & 16

The main thing is, though, that of course anything (even religion, i.e. false teaching or legalism) can make a Christian “slip”. Unfortunately, this is because the adversary has been around for a very long time and really knows how to decieve and tempt humans. This is why if you do find yourself as one of those Christians who are “addicted to Grey’s Anatomy” and you are in fact being led astray, you probably didn’t even realize it. Thus I’m not calling any of those people bad individuals. You still live in your fleshly body and have to fight against it, so nobody should expect you to be perfect. I’m just trying to share a wake-up call as I believe the Lord burdened me to do.
Anyway…..the fact is, however, that SOME things are like “secret weapons” for the demonic realm. I believe “Grey’s Anatomy” is one of those. Look how popular it is, especially among Christians here in the south [Side note: on Facebook, look at the TN Tech or Nashville network stats. We’re totally in the ‘Bible belt’ (note the most popular book), yet this show is #1]. Is it not pretty much just a fancy, well-made soap opera? I believe there is a power behind its popularity. Also disturbing: look how many groups are called “Addicted to Grey’s Anatomy”. I know the name is probably tongue-in-cheek, but since when is an addiction something to be proud of? I actually think most — if not all — addictions are demonic strongholds!

Furthermore disturbing: search for groups with the keywords, “jesus grey’s anatomy”. Look at the results for a minute, then read about the group called, “Does Grey’s Anatomy Count As Religion?”. Just a sample from that: “For Every devoted fan who think NOT what would moses/jesus/god/the gods do but what would [enter favorite character’s name from GREY’S ANATOMY] do?”, “For ever fan who uses Grey’s as an anti-drug to forget about there own lives”.
I’m sorry….but that’s how you specifically offer up Yeshua’s place in your life to something else. That’s called the “spirit of the anti-Christ”. Now, given; this is probably a secular group, but it shows you the demonic deceit/influence associated with the show.
You’ve asked, and now you have my answer (this is just the brief version of it!): THIS is why I hate “Grey’s Anatomy”.
If you are in fact a Christian who is using this show to bring the Lord glory, please tell me about it…I seriously want to know. That would be quite a victory. The Lord gets SO much glory from using a tool of the enemy for something holy, so I’d love to hear about it.

Now, Josh…. in case you were really wondering: yeah, I do think “Indiana Jones” has redeeming value to it, and it doesn’t cause me to struggle with sin. Granted, Dr. Jones does enjoy the ladies and the movies could possibly draw someone’s curiosity about the supernatural/relics toward the occult, but like I said two sentences ago, Elohim gets glory from redeeming something of the world to be used for His purposes. One example: “Raiders of the Lost Ark” can be used to start spiritual conversations with Jews, archaeologists, historians…even neo-nazis! The thing is…we Christians must be relevant to reach the world, and I believe it all boils down to personal conviction, the intent of a Christian’s heart, and obeying the prompting of the Spirit.

7 thoughts on “Bucky on “Grey’s Anatomy”

  1. But let me tell you this; when you SEE demons manifest, that’s when it hits the fan. That’s when you start to realize how the world really works.

    .. i want you to go into this. you’ve seen demons physically manifest?

  2. in haiti – they manifested in a couple of people at the church. There’s a lot of spiritual activity there because of the voodoo, etc.

    on an un-related note, a birthday in japan sounds awesome…but it’s not really your birthday yet, is it? what’s the deal of facebook?

  3. Sorry, I wasn’t trying to make a statement about your beliefs or practices, merely your methodology. Feel free to watch Indiana Jones or Grey’s Anatomy. You say that you’re answerable to God and not man for your actions. So is everyone else. It isn’t your responsibility (or mine) to judge someone for watching a show, listening to a cd, or playing a game. It just kills me when I see someone condemn one thing, but love another even though they exhibit the same characteristics. The latter being permissible because it has “redeeming value.”

  4. Facebook is telling me his birthday is August 10th. He’s actually going to be back in the DC area for that.

  5. A) yeah…I eventually figured that out. Hopefully you’ll get to run into some old friends and have a good birthday, Izz

    B) now i’m confused as to how my last two posts are anonymous…i was pretty sure i was logged in

  6. I agree with what your saying. Not just about “Grey’s Anatomy” but with anything and everything we experience, watch on tv, buy, eat, drink, etc. I personally don’t watch “Grey’s” because I don’t like all the sexual content, which is Satan’s way of tempting us to think lustful thoughts and even act on those thoughts. I don’t watch TV much at all. I don’t have cable, so when I do watch it I’m at Jordan’s apt. Even then the only thing we watch is “Heroes” and it’s off for the summer. When I’m at home I’m usually watching cartoons with my neice or Food Network with my brother. I avoid shows like “Grey’s” and “Desperate Housewives”.

    As far as movies go…I LOVE fantasy movies, historical/adventure, CLEAN comedies, dramas (chick flicks), action, marital arts, etc. I see nothing wrong with watching “Harry Potter”, but many other Christians believe it to be an abomination. We all have different views and we all have to be accountable for what we do. But that’s between us and God. NO ONE ELSE can tell us where we are spiritually. (wish I could tell someone ELSE that at the moment…, but that’s a whole other story).

Leave a Reply

